March 3, 2021



UK Bans Arrivals From 16 Countries Over New Strain – Travel Off Path

How Will The Ban Affect Travelers?

The UK government’s decision to ban arrivals from South America and Portugal represents one of the most significant blanket travel bans imposed by the country since the start of the pandemic.

Transport Secretary Grant Shapps announced the ban on Thursday January 14, outlining that it would extend to all South American countries, covering: Argentina, Brazil, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, French Guiana, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay and Venezuela. The ban will also apply to Panama, Cape Verde and Portugal – all countries with important ties to Brazil.